Select Page

Dasun Shanaka appointed Sri Lanka’s T20I captain


He replaces Malinga, who is known to be out of rivalry for choice, having not skilled with the squad prior to now few months

Dasun Shanaka has been appointed the Sri Lanka males’s workforce’s new T20I captain, changing Lasith Malinga, who is known to be out of rivalry for choice, having not skilled with the squad prior to now few months. Shanaka has beforehand led the T20 facet – on the 2019 tour to Pakistan, the place Sri Lanka received 3-0. Extra not too long ago, he has additionally captained the Dambulla Viiking franchise on the Lanka Premier League. He has been handed the captaincy over Thisara Perera, who has additionally led Sri Lanka within the format earlier than and had additionally been the captain of the successful LPL franchise.

Shanaka’s first project would be the three-match T20 collection within the West Indies starting on March 3, and on this tour, Sri Lanka have two uncapped batsmen to select from. Opener Pathum Nissanka and middle-order batsman Ashen Bandara have each been chosen within the 20-strong squad – Nissanka’s choice particularly having resulted from sturdy home performances.

Dilshan Madushanka, a 20-year-old quick bowler with solely 4 senior matches on his report, is the opposite uncapped participant within the squad, whereas allrounder Dhananjaya Lakshan, who was among the many finds of the LPL, has been ignored.

Making a return, in the meantime, is spinner Akila Dananjaya, who final performed for Sri Lanka in September 2019, earlier than serving a one-year suspension over an unlawful bowling motion. Dananjaya has since reworked his motion, however was not particularly profitable within the three LPL matches he performed in since his return. He’s one in all three frontline spinners within the squad, alongside legspinner Wanindu Hasaranga, and left-arm wristspinner Lakshan Sandakan. Two allrounders additionally add spin-bowling choices – the offspin of Ramesh Mendis is obtainable, as is the ambidextrous finger spin of Kamindu Mendis.

On the quick bowling entrance, Sri Lanka will miss Lahiru Kumara, who examined optimistic for Covid-19 on the eve of the workforce’s departure to the Caribbean. In his place, the selectors have chosen Suranga Lakmal. Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera and Madushanka are the opposite quicks within the squad.

After Shanaka leads the workforce within the T20s that start the tour, Dimuth Karunaratne will take over for the ODI and Take a look at legs that observe. These groups final confronted one another early in 2020, in Sri Lanka. On that tour, West Indies had received the T20s 2-0, and Sri Lanka swept the three-match ODI sereis.

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (ODI captain), Dasun Shanaka (T20 captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka, Suranga Lakmal

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo’s Sri Lanka correspondent. @afidelf

Source link

Leave a Reply


New Delhi
06:3918:24 IST
Feels like: 28°C
Wind: 10km/h ESE
Humidity: 42%
Pressure: 1006.77mbar
UV index: 0

Stock Update

  • Loading stock data...


Live COVID-19 statistics for
Last updated: 5 minutes ago


Enter your email address to receive notifications of new update by email.